London Festival Orchestra

LFO_Cornucopia LFO-black Copy (2) of Studio 1b


The Warehouse

13 Theed Street




T: +44 (0)20 7928 9251

F: +44 (0)20 7928 9252

Adi Tal 2008

The Muriel Taylor Scholarship Fund


Founder:  Nannie Jamieson

Chairman:  Ross Pople


The Muriel Taylor Scholarship was initiated in February 1971, shortly after Muriel Taylor’s passing.  The idea of a permanent memorial to Muriel was proposed to her great friend Nannie Jamieson by two of Muriel’s pupils, Ross Pople and Roger Smith, while all three were on tour in the USA.


On returning to England, Nannie immediately set about gathering donations from a wide circle of friends, many of whom were musicians.  The Menuhin Festival Orchestra with Menuhin directing and Maurice Gendron as soloist, gave a concert at the Queen Elizabeth Hall to start the scholarship fund.


A meeting was then held and a committee of  Trustees formed, as follows: Faith Deller, Nesta Inglis, Esther Ingram, Nannie Jamieson, Ronald Kinloch Anderson, Robert Masters, Ross Pople, Eleanor Warren.


At the first Committee Meeting on 28 November 1971, it was agreed that Esther Ingram (Solicitor) should become treasurer of the Trust, and that application should be made by her to the Charity Commission for recognition as a charity.  This was granted and the first competition was held at the Royal Academy of Music in 1972, with Maurice Gendron as adjudicator.


Since that year, competitions have been held annually.  Entry is restricted to candidates between the ages of 17 and 23 years and must be supported by written recommendations from the candidate’s teacher.  


The Competition is an open one.  An entry fee of £10 is charged; all administrative work is done voluntarily, the administrative expenses (postage, telephone, stationary, photocopying) met from the entry fees, and a Post Office Savings Account is kept in which entry fees are lodged.  


A single adjudicator officiates each year and is asked to set the syllabus for the following year.  The Trust has been exceedingly fortunate in having many distinguished musicians give their services, including:


Maurice Gendron

Florence Hooton

Ralph Kirshbaum

Yehudi Menuhin

Zara Nelsova

William Pleeth

Ross Pople

Jaqueline du Pre

Raphael Wallfisch


The award which was £500 in the early years grew to £1,000 by the 1980s and in 1990, thanks to an ongoing commitment from the Ralph Vaughan William Trust, was established at £2,000.  

At present the award stands at £5,000.


In order to maintain the Fund, a Fundraising Gala concert will be held at The Warehouse on 26th October 2011, featuring the young and the ‘old’ of the Muriel Taylor Scholarship winners over the years.